top of page

Alumni Spotlight - Internship Advice


Hi everybody! My name is William Folkes, proud 2017 graduate of Mississippi State University. During my time at State I majored in Communication with concentrations in Broadcasting and Public Relations. Let me go ahead and tell you, if you put in the work here at MSU, you can compete with any graduate of any school across the country.

Although much of my collegiate career was focused on PR, I made a 'last semester' decision to try my hand in the field of broadcasting. Luckily I wound up at WCBI-TV in Columbus, MS. There I started out as an Associate Producer on their morning show and after a couple of months was promoted to Digital Content Producer. Essentially I was the one-man-band that handled the social media and website for the station. Probably more interestingly to the audience reading this however, I started the station's internship program.

This is easily my crowning achievement at the station because I believe it will leave a lasting legacy for myself, but also introduce many students (hopefully most of them from State!) into the wonderful, wacky world of broadcasting. In taking our first steps as an internship program I set standards for us to not worry about the number of interns we could recruit, but focus on the interns' quality. During our first and second recruitment period I looked for students who seemed hungry to learn and willing to go the extra mile. I think a common misconception with internships is that you need to go in with industry experience. The whole point of the internship is to get a taste of what it's really like! So experience with equipment and being in newsroom environments was a plus, but by no means a requirement. Another thing that can get you to the top of the list is showing your creative streak and being open to different positions and ideas than what you may be used to.

Always remember though, the benefits of an internship are two-sided. Yes you're there to gain experience and throw something on your resume, but the company wants to get good work out of you. In my case at WCBI, the internship program was used as a sort of farm system, much like the minor leagues of baseball. If we see a star, we won't hesitate to contact them about possible future employment. I'm not saying at the end of every internship you do there's going to be a job offer waiting for you, but always work like the boss is watching (because he/she is!).

If you're a broadcasting student wondering how you can check out the WCBI Internship Program, all I can do now is point you in the direction of the website: wcbi.com/about-wcbi/intern-with-us/

I have since taken a position at WFTV in Orlando as a Promotions Producer. I've only been able to get as far as I have in my career due to the great people in McComas and WCBI. They set me up for my success that's led me where I am now. (A top 20 TV market in my 20's!) Just goes to show you what you can do with a MSU degree in your pocket.

Life can be a crazy ride, but my advice to you is to treat it like a roller coaster... not a runaway train. Enjoy it, be positive and work hard! Good things will come your way.

Hail State!

William Folkes

RECENT POST
bottom of page