top of page

Student Spotlight - Jessica Mayts, Country Music Hall of Fame

Jessica Mayts, Public Relations Intern for Country Music Hall of Fame

Jessica Mayts (front, fourth from left) and fellow Country Music Hall of Fame interns

Where did you intern and how did you find the internship?

I interned at the Country Music Hall of Fame in Nashville, TN in the Public Relations department. Working at the Country Music Hall of Fame was an incredible opportunity that presented many helpful contacts and resources to launch me into my future endeavors in the music industry.

Jessica Mayts' identification card

What were your responsibilities as an intern and what communication skills did you utilize?

I achieved and learned many useful skills and assets that will help me become a successful PR practitioner. My goals was to observe and participate in the way in which a PR organization works in a non-profit organization. MSU has prepared me really well for the many skills needed to be in Public Relations. These skills are drafting press releases, media alerts, media kits, etc. However, this summer my goal was to take these skills I have learned at MSU and apply them to my internship in a real world PR setting. Aside from putting my PR skills to work, I also built professional connections that will launch me into my PR career. I hope to network with PR professionals from the music industry and hear their stories of success. Overall, I think my goals were met with my internship opportunities this summer.

Jessica Mayts (front, first on left) and fellow Country Music Hall of Fame interns

What was the most challenging part of your internship?

I did struggle with the intimidation by the people that will be worked at the Country Music Hall of Fame. Many of these professionals were very plugged into the music scene and have TONS of connections. The fact that they are in contact with some of the people I want to be in contact with someday is very intimidating. However, I think the connections I made present many opportunities!

Jessica Mayts' workspace

What advice or recommendations would you give to other students thinking about interning?

Recommendations I would make to students going into their internships is to give it everything you have. Do not be timid or shy and attack every job that is given to you with full force. At the end of your internship, be sure to thank everyone for what they did for you.

To apply for this internship in the future, click here.

RECENT POST
bottom of page