top of page

Student Spotlight - "Man of The People"

Eryk Yunk, Production Intern on "Man of The People"

Eryk Yunk

Where did you intern and how did you find it?

This summer I interned at WGN, the primary news station for the Chicago area, on a late-night comedy show called "Man of The People." I found out about my internship through LinkedIn and I applied through the app before going through the interview process.

Eryk and Pat Tomasulo, host of "Man of The People"

What were your responsibilities as an intern and what communication skills did you utilize?

I acted as a Production Intern. My responsibilities included scheduling, assisting producers on set, helping with the entirety of the production process, as well as helping during pitch meetings and writing/storyboarding. I also dealt with talent and guests who were on the show during given shoots, assisted on sketch shoots, and on the street bits.

What was the most enjoyable part of your internship?

I really enjoyed being able to be a part of every aspect of the show. It allowed me to understand everything that goes on to produce a show at a high quality. I also enjoyed the people I worked with. They became a little family for me and allowed me to become more creative and were a productive environment for my creative growth.

Eryk and family on set of "Man of The People"

What was the most challenging part of your internship?

The most challenging part of my internship was handling and scheduling every thing that I was responsible for. It took me about a week or two to ease my way into the work flow and the dynamic of the office.

What advice or recommendations would you give to other students thinking about interning?

I would say apply to every possible internship that interests you. I applied for over 74 internships and got 4 interviews. It was a lot of work, but it worked out because I was able to intern at a station and in a field that I really want to have a career in. So just stay aggressive and keep applying and eventually something will come.

Be sure to check out clips from "Man of The People" here.

RECENT POST
bottom of page