top of page

Student Spotlight- Washington Redskins Internship Experience


Where did you intern and how did you find it?

Last fall, I interned with the Washington Redskins inside the Game Entertainment Department. I found this internship via TeamWork Online. TeamWork Online is a job posting platform specially made for individuals in the sports and live entertainment industry.

Briefly describe the organization

Competing in the National Football League (NFL), the three-time super bowl champions are based out of Ashburn, Virginia, and play their home games at FedEx Field in Landover, Maryland. Within the world-class organization, the Redskins provide a competitive and family-friendly environment. The Game Entertainment Department offers state-of-the-art, innovative, and industry-leading designs.

What were your responsibilities as an intern and what communication skills did you utilize?

My main responsibilities as an intern were to create activation maps, generate game reviews and assist in script writing. For every home game, I took advantage of my digital communication skills in Adobe Photoshop and created activation maps. Our cameramen and field managers strongly benefitted from these maps because they displayed every live promotion, camera shot, and game motion. On Monday’s after home games, I downloaded the entire game record to Adobe Premiere Pro, and cut sequences. For example, I cut third down, in-game promotions, and all camera live shot sequences. As a team, we took all sequences and clips, and developed ideas on how we could lift and boost all aspects to improve fan experience. Another skill I utilized in my weekly tasks was creative writing. I was encouraged to be included in the Public Address Announcer (PA Announcer) and in-game host script writing. Here, we wrote what the PA Announcer and in-game host would say. Through all these responsibilities, I effectively advanced my industry knowledge and gained unique, hands-on learning opportunities.

What was the most enjoyable part of your internship?

The most enjoyable part of my time with the Washington Redskins was waking up on game day, knowing that all the long hours of preparation and hard work were about to pay off. Bringing excitement to fans across the world and providing a positive experience to others is what it’s all about.

What was the most challenging part of your internship?

The most challenging part of my internship was becoming familiar with production software and technology. I previously had no control room experience, but with an optimistic approach, I was able to become more well-rounded, and valuable to the team.

What advice or recommendations would you give to other students thinking about interning?

The advice I have for other students thinking about interning is: plant your feet down, go out there, and do it. From my personal experience, interning truly develops the individual-- both professionally and personally. Interning opens up doors and opportunities, and ignite your future.

RECENT POST
bottom of page