top of page

Student Spotlight - Internship in China


Where did you intern and how did you find it?

I interned with a company called Mingyian in Shanghai, China! I actually found it through a Career Center Connection email that said, “Jobs You Might Be Interested In”. I know most students want to ignore these just because they are automatically generated from our Connection accounts, but I highly suggest you give them a look!

Briefly describe the organization

Mingyian is a company that creates a digital presence on Chinese platforms for western celebrities. Since western social media apps and sites are restricted in China, our job was to make sure that these celebrities effectively connected with their fans to sustain their relationship and find the best way for them to break into the Chinese market.

What were your responsibilities as an intern and what communication skills did you utilize?

My responsibilities were mainly focused on research. With new clients, we had to research them, their background, what they stand for, what they are trying to project to their fans, what Chinese fans thought of them, what markets were open to them, how they could fit into the Chinese market, what ties they had to China, etc. Each client had to have a specific niche in the market that made them stand out from the rest, and it was our job to create posts and campaigns that reflected that. With that being said, I utilized a ton of research! Dr. Walton was not lying in our case studies class when she said that research would be the bulk of our work. We may not think of it often, but creativity is a huge part of communications, and it was much needed this summer. When given multiple clients that are similar, you have to be creative to come up with their specific place in the Chinese social media world.

What was the most enjoyable part of your internship?

Definitely living in Shanghai! I loved my coworkers, I loved learning Mandarin, I loved exploring the city, I loved the people and so much more. Living abroad really teaches you a lot about yourself and the world. I’ve always wanted to move out of the south, and this trip showed me how badly I want to live abroad again. It was such a change of pace when you come from a small town on the Mississippi Gulf Coast, and I loved it!

What was the most challenging part of your internship?

The most challenging part was probably understanding the Chinese market. When you work in a foreign country, you really have to understand what the market thrives on, who likes what, who your target audience is, what they’re saying, etc. Society, the way we think and how we function are different from country to country, so it took a lot of research and patience to understand it all. The language barrier added some difficulties as well; but if you enjoy learning languages, it’s a great opportunity to broaden your horizons!

What advice or recommendations would you give to other students thinking about interning?

First, intern as much as you can! This was my fourth internship, and I’m still learning about myself and what direction I want to take post-graduation. Second, don’t be afraid to go outside of your comfort zone; that is where you learn the most about yourself! I was extremely nervous about this internship, as moving to the opposite side of the world is scary. But in the end, I learned so much more about what I want to do with my life, where I want to move, and how to view our world with an open-mind.

RECENT POST
bottom of page