top of page

Student Spotlight- Becca Hawkins


-Tell us about yourself.

My name is Becca Hawkins and I am a senior concentrating in public relations.

-Where did you intern and how did you find it?

During Summer 2016, I had the opportunity to intern with Sanderson Farms, Inc. as a Communication Intern. I found out about this internship through other employees of the company! The corporate headquarters is also located near my hometown, so I grew up knowing about Sanderson Farms

-Briefly describe the organization.

Sanderson Farms, Inc. is the nation's third largest producer of poultry located in Laurel, MS. With over 13,000 employees, Sanderson Farms also has production and processing plants located in 13 cities in Louisiana, Mississippi, Georgia, Texas, and North Carolina, as well as a prepared foods division located in Mississippi.

-What were your responsibilities as an intern and what communication skills did you utilize?​

As a Communications Intern, I was tasked with assisting the Communication Manager in a variety of communication efforts on behalf of the corporation. I primarily wrote articles for the Sanderson Farms Newsletter, a magazine-style newsletter with a readership of over 15,000 of Sanderson Farms' employees, growers and customers. Apart from writing newsletter articles, I also wrote press releases that were placed locally and nationally as well as inter-company memorandums. I helped oversee advertising efforts for various events put on by the Training and Recruiting departments by making contact with local advertisers to gauge prices, writing radio advertisement scripts, and developing advertisement plans. In regards to communication skills, I used the writing and design skills that I have learned through my PR Writing and News writing classes here in the department. Working with people also helped me to hone my public speaking skills and interpersonal communication skills.

-What was the most enjoyable part of your internship?

Discovering my love for writing! Writing for the Sanderson Farms Newsletter showed me that I have a true passion for writing, and I can now say that I am a published writer which is really cool!

-What was the most challenging part of your internship?

Learning that getting criticism does not mean that you are bad at your job, but criticism is actually a chance for you to learn from professionals and get better at your work.

-What advice or recommendations would you give to other students thinking about interning?

Do it! My internship is what solidified for me that the profession I have chosen is the right one for me. Interning also gave me confidence in my abilities. I also would suggest doing multiple internships over your college career. It's so important to be well-rounded, so work in different fields to learn what really intrigues you.

RECENT POST
bottom of page